The James Marshall Award for Service to the Quinnipiac Community was created by the Faculty Senate in 2002 to recognize faculty who exhibit qualities of unselfish service and dedication to the Quinnipiac University community.

The award was named after the late James Marshall, assistant professor of health management who died suddenly in April 2002. Dr. Marshall was known for his community work, including serving as chairman of Quinnipiac's Black History Month Committee.

A plaque with names of the recipients is on display in the faculty dining room in the Carl Hansen Student Center.

Award Guidelines:
There will be no attempt to judge the faculty members' teaching or professional credentials. This award will be given for outstanding service to the Quinnipiac Community. Criteria include, but are not limited to: effective advising, mentoring fellow faculty, service to students in any capacity, and general helpfulness to students, staff, fellow faculty, and the surrounding community. The winner must be a full-time faculty member, but nominations can come from the faculty, staff or students.

Past recipients:

2002 2003 2004 2005 2006
James Marshall
Scott McLean
Jill Martin Mohammad Elahee Cornelius Nelan Janet Valeski
Gloria Graves Holmes
McLean Martin Elahee nelan group
Scott McLean, associate professor of political science From left: Cornelius Nelan, professor of mathematics, and Jill Martin, chairwoman of the legal studies department From left: David Rosettenstein, former professor of law, and Mohammad Elahee, professor of international business Cornelius Nelan, professor of mathematics From left: Janet Valeski, readers' services and reference librarian, William Kohlhepp, associate professor of physician assistant studies, and Gloria Graves Holmes, associate professor of education
2007 2008 2009 2010 2011
Jack Leary Deborah Clark
Sean Duffy William Kohlhepp
Kimberly Hartmann
Jill Shahverdian
leary clark duffy elahee hartmann kohlhepp Jill
Jack Leary, associate professor of legal studies Deborah Clark, professor of biology From left: Sean Duffy, professor of political science, and Bob Smart From left: Mohammad Elahee, professor of international business, Kimberly Hartmann, associate professor of occupational therapy, and William Kohlhepp, associate professor of physician assistant studies Jill Shahverdian, associate professor of mathematics
2012 2013 2014 2015
Bruce White Maureen Helgren
Robert Smart
Kathleen Simione Paul LoCasto
straub and white Smart and Helgren Simione and Zeleza Paul LoCasto
Bruce White (right) is presented the 2012 James Marshall Award For Outstanding Service to the Quinnipiac Community by faculty senate co-chair Stephen Straub. Robert Smart, professor of English, and Maureen Helgren, associate professor of physical therapy Kathleen Simione, associate professor of accounting (left), accepts the award from Paul Zeleza, vice president of academic affairs Paul LoCasto, associate professor of psychology (right), accepts the award from President John L. Lahey

Back to top