Military Law Society

The purpose of the Military Law Society (MLS) is to provide a social and professional network for military service members within the School of Law community. Members include former and current military personnel, former DoD civilians, those who have family in the military, as well as those considering careers in the military. They welcome those who are simply interested in supporting veterans and the military.

The mission is simple: to create awareness of the military presence at Quinnipiac University School of Law and have that presence felt in the greater community. That awareness encompasses a desire to educate the student body on military issues and triumphs, and have all join in the fight for veteran support.

The group encourages students to learn about civilian/military legal relations, military legal careers and veteran-specific issues such as disabled veterans' rights and combat veteran post-traumatic stress disorder. Members also volunteer with veterans' service groups and work with organizations to sponsor lectures, social events and community service opportunities. The MLS works closely with the Quinnipiac Student Veterans Organization to help veterans in the surrounding community. They also continue to work closely with the MLS alumni network.

The MLS, in conjunction with several other student organizations, hosts the annual Sleeping Giant 5K Run/Walk Challenge to raise funds for Habitat for Humanity; actively participates as a Toys for Tots drop site; holds a Winter Coat Drive/Sock Drive for homeless veterans; and in conjunction with VITA (Volunteer Income Tax Assistance), provides tax assistance to veterans in need. The MLS will continue its community engagement with a Charity Motorcycle Ride for fallen service members in Spring 2016.

2015-2016 Executive Board
President: Brad Davis - United States Marine Corps
Vice President: Justyn Stokely
Secretary: Angela Bethoney
Treasurer: Nicholas Lombard - United States Navy
House Committee: Tara Tropeano; Molly Wilcox

Fundraising Chair: Stefany Raulukaitis

Social Media Chair: Katelyn Day

Back to top