Law students taking part in a mock trial demo

Mock Trial Society

The mission of the society is to cultivate ethical and intellectual trial advocates whose excellence in courtroom presence and ability will be recognized on both regional and national levels. Through rigorous preparation for student trial advocacy competitions, the society's members will gain a unique, invaluable courtroom education that will serve as a foundation for a successful legal career. By participating in the Mock Trial Society, members will obtain a comprehensive understanding of the Federal Rules of Evidence and the Rules of Civil and Criminal Procedure. In addition, the society will ensure that its members are properly trained in all areas of trial advocacy and courtroom etiquette by keeping all members apprised of traditional and modern trial techniques.

Members are selected as second- and third-year law students through the Intramural Competition held during the Fall semester. Intramural competitors prepare a full trial, which includes an opening statement, two direct examinations, two cross examinations and a closing argument. The case is then presented before experienced trial attorneys who practice in the area. Students who receive the highest scores, and are willing to commit the necessary time, energy and dedication to become a member of the society, are invited to join as candidates.

Students who are selected for the team are given the opportunity to represent the School of Law in regional and national mock trial competitions and vest their membership on the society.

2014-2015 Competitions

  • Peter James Johnson Civil Rights Competition, St. John's University School of Law
  • Quinnipiac University School of Law ABA Criminal Justice Trial Advocacy Competition
    • Finalist
  • Texas Young Lawyers Association National Trial Competition, Northeast Region
  • American Association for Justice Student Trial Advocacy Competition
  • National Criminal Justice Trial Competition, John Marshall Law School

2015-2016 Executive Board
President: Kara Moreau
Vice President/ABA: Mary-Caitlin Harding
Vice President/External Affairs: Caroline Watson
Director of the Intramural: Catherine Blair
Creative Director for ABA: Zachary Dunn


Back to top