The School of Communications presents the Fred Friendly First Amendment Award each year to honor those who have shown courage and forthrightness in preserving the rights set forth in the First Amendment. The award bears the name of the former CBS News president and champion of freedom of speech.

The School of Communications also has a Fred Friendly Professorship. The Fred Friendly Professorship is a permanent position in the School of Communications.

Past Fred Friendly First Amendment Award Recipients:

Dan Rather, 1994 Tim Russert, 2005
Bill Moyers, 1995 Bob Schieffer, 2006
Lesley Stahl, 1996 Steve Kroft, 2007
Ted Koppel, 1997 Charles Gibson, 2008
Tom Brokaw, 1998 Morley Safer, 2009
Robert MacNeil, 1999 Gwen Ifill, 2010
Don Hewitt, 2000 David Fanning, 2011
Peter Jennings, 2001 Martha Raddatz, 2012
Mike Wallace, 2002 Scott Pelley, 2013
Christiane Amanpour, 2003 Richard Engel, 2015
Tom Bettag, 2004

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients:
Floyd Abrams, 2008
Barbara Walters, 2014
Bob Simon, 2015

Read a story and see photos from the latest award presentations:
Richard Engel, Bob Simon (2015)
Barbara Walters (2014)
Scott Pelley (2013)
Martha Raddatz (2012)
David Fanning (2011)
Gwen Ifill (2010)
Morley Safer (2009)
Charles Gibson (2008)

For more information about the annual award, please contact the School of Communications at 203-582-8974.

Back to top