2005 Honorees

The Excellence in Teaching Award and the Excellence in Service to Students Award represent Quinnipiac's highest recognition of excellence in and outside the classroom. The recipients were honored at the Center for Excellence awards recognition event in the Recreation Center.

The 2005 Excellence in Teaching Award was presented to:

Bulger O'Connor Smits

Carrie Bulger
associate professor
of psychology

Matthew O'Connor
finance department chairman

Allan Smits
biology department chairman

The 2005 Excellence in Service to Students Award will be presented to:




James Cavallaro
superintendent of evening operations

Maritza Ramirez
technology department manager

Linda Wooster
associate director
of athletics

These honorees - selected from a pool of nominations by faculty, staff, students, alumni and parents - will have their names engraved on a stone sculpture on display in the Arnold Bernhard Library. The recipients also will be recognized at a reception with the board of trustees, receive a cash prize and be featured in a promotional brochure to be used throughout the year in Quinnipiac's public relations activities.

This is the third year the center has presented the awards. Last year's recipients of the Excellence in Teaching Award were Donn Johnson, chairman of the accounting and economics departments; Mark Johnston, English professor; and Alexander Meiklejohn, law professor.

Last year's recipients of the Excellence in Service to Students Award were Ilena Andrich, secretary for campus reservations and the information center; Patricia Hayes, accounting secretary; and Marisa Melillo, postal services specialist.

The Center for Excellence, established in 2002, helps Quinnipiac achieve its educational mission, consistent with its three core values: high-quality academic programs, a student oriented environment, and a sense of community. The center supplements Quinnipiac's existing professional development programs by sponsoring workshops and seminars, and conducting surveys to address strengths and weaknesses regarding service to students.

The president's office supports the center, which is governed by a rotating board of directors of faculty, staff and students.

Back to top