2006 Honorees

The Excellence in Teaching Award and the Excellence in Service to Students Award represent Quinnipiac's highest recognition of excellence in and outside the classroom. The recipients were honored at the Center for Excellence awards recognition in the Recreation Center.

The Excellence in Teaching Award:

 Cooke Kerison Venit

Kathy Cooke
College of Arts and Sciences

Cheryl Kerison
School of Education

Kenn Venit
School of Communications

The Excellence in Service to Students Award:

Acquarulo Gilmore Riley 

Mafalda Acquarulo

Peter Gilmore

Dominick Riley

These honorees - selected from a pool of nominations by faculty, staff, students, alumni and parents - will have their names engraved on a stone sculpture on display in the Arnold Bernhard Library. The recipients also will be recognized at a reception with the board of trustees, receive a cash prize and be featured in a promotional brochure to be used throughout the year in Quinnipiac's public relations activities.

This is the fourth year the center has presented the awards. Last year's recipients of the Excellence in Teaching Award were Carrie Bulger, associate professor of psychology; Matthew O'Connor, chairman of the finance department in the School of Business; and Allan Smits, chairman of the biological sciences department in the School of Health Sciences.

Last year's recipients of the Excellence in Service to Students Award were James Cavallaro, superintendent of evening operations for facilities; Professor Maritza Ramirez, manager of the Technology Department in the School of Law Center; and Linda Wooster, associate director of athletics.

The Center for Excellence, established in 2002, helps Quinnipiac achieve its educational mission, consistent with its three core values: high-quality academic programs, a student oriented environment, and a sense of community. The center supplements Quinnipiac's existing professional development programs by sponsoring workshops and seminars, and conducting surveys to address strengths and weaknesses regarding service to students.

The president's office supports the center, which is governed by a rotating board of directors of faculty, staff and students.

Back to top