Quinnipiac University

Students and faculty inducted into national honor society for the allied health professions

January 20, 2021

Student performs health assessment

Ninety-four students and four faculty members from Quinnipiac were recently inducted into Alpha Eta, the national honor society for the allied health professions, during a virtual ceremony.

To be eligible for induction, undergraduate students must have a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher and graduate students must have a GPA of 3.8 or higher and be in the top 20 percent of the graduating class. All inductees must show a capacity for leadership and achievement, show promise for their profession and be recommended by a faculty member or dean.

The students who were inducted are:

B.S. in Athletic Training program: Heather Minue, Eden Montgomery, Heather Pleus, and Laura Superchi

B.S. in Radiologic Sciences program: Madison Calbi, Zachary Gurahian, and Connor Smith

MHS in Advanced Medical Imaging and Leadership: Alison Rogalewski

B.S. in Biomedical Science program: Chiara Bacchini, Isabel Dunning, Katrina Etts, Erin Leaf, Rachael Lister, and Emma Steel

B.S. in Microbiology and Immunology program: Monica Royo

Undergraduate Occupational Therapy program: Michaela Caron, Britney Del Mundo, Lindsey Eichman, Hannah-Jo Gassaway, Leigh Giffault, Brianna Giordano, Brook Hagen, Rachel Holton, Colleen Houston, Madison Knibbs, Stephanie Langevin, Morgan Martinson, Danielle McCall, Jennifer Quigley, Emily Salisbury, Jenna Silvestro, Jenna Sinko and Stephanie Vanasco

Physician Assistant MHS program: Amanda Cox, Madeleine Gaffney, Danielle Ludwig, Kayla Martello, Deanna Sgambato and Amanda Sullivan

B.S. in Health Science Studies program: Victoria Arlia, Rachel Baldick, Briana Bermudez, Nicola Ciccomancini, Brenna Dean, Allison Demirjian, Tobore Emede, Emily Gannon, Lauren Haverl, Layla Hindiyeh, Camryn Hurley, Brianna Lapia, Alyssa Lawson, Zachary Lima, Francesca Link, Matthew Mastropietro, Lindsay Palma, Alyssa Quivelli, Olivia Raymond, Olivia Rua, Michael Santos, Kyle Sharron, Benjamin Sibert, Mya Souksavath, Lauren Steinert, Alexis Tahinos, Gabriella Vaysman, and Jacqueline Woodburn

B.S. in Health Science Studies program online: Natalie Nowakowski

Undergraduate Physical Therapy program: Natalie Armstrong, Nicole Brisette, Michael Broslawski, Kayley Cote, Caroline Hinkle, Megan Lawton, Emily Menice, Erin Nash, Emma Nelson, Katie Reigel, Maily Tran, Lauren Triglione and Claudia Volpe

Graduate Physical Therapy program: Taylor Coffey, Carly Cordano, Alicia Covell, Sarah Kenyon, Danielle Mandile, Juliana Noce, Teresa Tripodi and Kelly Woodmansee

Pathologists’ Assistant MHS program: Shauna Berg, Carly Eaton, Lindsey Masone, Elizabeth Pitroff and Kyle Sterling

The four faculty members who were inducted are: Robert Cottrell, clinical assistant professor of biomedical sciences and program director of the pathologist assistant studies, Nicole Fidanza, clinical assistant professor of occupational therapy, Jason Scozzafava, clinical associate professor of health science studies, and Stephen Straub, professor of athletic training and sports medicine, chair of rehabilitation, health and wellness and program director of athletic training.

“It was such an honor to induct 94 students and four faculty into Alpha Eta and welcome them to a community of esteemed colleagues,” said Janelle Chiasera, dean of the School of Health Sciences. “The faculty and students represent the leadership and caliber of academic excellence that are upheld both by Alpha Eta and by our school – particularly our deep commitment to growing and developing future leaders who we believe are equipped to change the future of health care.”

Related Articles

A student watches Sen. Blumenthal on her computer.

The future of business requires bold thinking, partnerships, Sen. Blumenthal urges

In a time of lifesaving vaccines and renewable energy, Connecticut’s greatest resource is its brainpower, innovation and ingenuity, U.S. Sen. Richard Blumenthal said Wednesday night.

Read More
Shot of William Tong standing

Connecticut attorney general implores companies to hire diverse workforce

“Equity, diversity, inclusion and justice mean more than having a certain percentage of your workforce or student body from underrepresented communities,” William Tong, attorney general for the state of Connecticut, recently told member of the School of Law’s Student Bar Association.

Read More
Students watch the State of the QUnion in the Piazza

COVID-19, inclusive excellence and university enhancements discussed at annual State of the QUnion

President Judy Olian thanked students for their diligence and efforts in helping to fight COVID-19 at the annual State of the QUnion on March 2 — and reassured them that their efforts are making a tangible, positive difference.

Read More
Shot of Tom Ellett talking to students on the quad

First CXO may just be a student's new best friend

When Tom Ellett heard that Quinnipiac was looking for a chief student experience officer, he was intrigued. It was the first advertised job of its kind he’d seen, and he could visualize himself in that role. Enhancing the college experience for students is what he’s done for more than 35 years at four different universities.

Read More
Dorothy Roberts

Race, gender and law scholar discusses racial disparities in health care

Medical professionals continue to make assumptions about race and genetics when treating patients in spite of the fact that race is not a biological category — but a social and political one, said Dorothy Roberts, a scholar of race, gender and the law.

Read More

Stay in the Loop

Sign Up Now