Student media organizations honored for excellence in journalism

July 27, 2017

Members of our student media organizations dominated at this year's Connecticut Society of Professional Journalists awards.

The Connecticut Society of Professional Journalists held its annual awards banquet earlier this year. The state chapter of SPJ recognizes excellence across print, digital and broadcast platforms.

Students from The Quinnipiac Chronicle and Q30 Television dominated the college division with 24 awards, including 10 first-place awards.

A pair of Q30 Television students also earned Connecticut SPJ scholarships: Ayah Galal and Victoria Rutigliano.

Chronicle photographer Caitlin Cryan won four awards, including a first-place award for her 9/11 memorial photo. Chronicle staffers Sarah Doiron, Julia Gallop and Kristen Riello each won three awards, while Hannah Feakes won two awards. Ryan Chichester, Erin Kane, Amanda Perelli and Christina Popik each earned one award.

Galal and Andrew Badillo of Q30 Television each won two awards for their work. M.J. Baird, Mike Bonavita, Mike Iozzo, Cali Kees and Max Molski each earned an award for their work.

Stay in the Loop

Sign Up Now